Apotheosis of this Earth

Apotheosis of this Earth Karel Husa

Titel / Title: Apotheosis of This Earth - Score and Parts
Herausgeber / Publisher: Associated Music Publishers
Instrumentation: Concert Band
Produkttyp / Product: Partitur + Stimmen
Serie / Series: G. Schirmer Band-Orchestra
Format: 305 X 229
ISBN: 9781495063183
UPC: 884088403287

Originally for Orchestra and Chorus. Arranged by Husa for concert band
Composer Note:

The composition of Apotheosis of this Earth was motivated by the present desperate stage of mankind and its immense problems with everyday killings, war, hunger, extermination of fauna, huge forest fires, and critical contamination of the whole environment.

In the first movement, 'Apotheosis,' the earth first approaches as a point of light in the universe. Our memory and imagination approach it in perhaps the same way as it appeared to the astronauts returning from the moon. The earth grows larger and larger, and we can even remember some of its tragic moments (as struck by the xylophone near the end of the movement).

The second movement, 'Tragedy of Destruction,' deals with the actual brutalities of man against nature, leading to the destruction of our planet, perhaps by radioactive explosion. The earth dies as a savagely, mortally wounded creature.

The last movement is a 'Postscript', full of the realization that so little is left to be said: the earth has been pulverized into the universe, the voices scattered into space. Toward the end, these voices -- at first computer-like and mechanical -- unite into the words 'this beautiful earth', simply said, warm and filled with regretand one of so many questions comes to our minds: 'Why have we let this happen?'

-- Karel Husa
184,99 €
inc. tax
plus shipping
Availability *
in stock | delivery time 1-2 days
Product information
Order id: 93166
Difficulty: 4+
Duration: 27:22 min
Pages: -
publisher id: HL 50244350
EAN: 9781495063183
Composer: Karel Husa
Arranger: -
Publisher: Hal Leonard Publishing Co.
Instrumentation: Blasorchester Noten / Concert Band


Other Customers were interested in
Smetana Fanfare - Karel Husa

Smetana Fanfare

Karel Husa

Elements of Nature - Suite - Hermann Pallhuber

Elements of Nature - Suite

Hermann Pallhuber

New London Pictures - Nigel Hess

New London Pictures

Nigel Hess

Kentish Dances - Philip Sparke

Kentish Dances

Philip Sparke

Al Fresco (1974) - Karel Husa

Al Fresco (1974)

Karel Husa

* Information on availability is based on previous experiences. Prices and availability are subject to change without notice!
Rev. 4.118 - Time: 187 ms | SQL: -1 ms